The Queen Comes to Call

(Or How Avina Becomes the Arch Mage)

Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): Decides she needs to take a walk to the town hall, do a bit of reading, and maybe stop to see how Daza is doing.
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): As she strolls along, guards in tow, she stops to check on the horses.
Daza (daza.mistwalker) sits in the town library, absorbed by the book he is reading.  One of possibly hundreds he has read since becoming a patient in the Lundene healers hall, though more of just a tenant at this point.  He thumbs through and furrows his brow as he studies the writings and crude drawings
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): Walks up to the town hall, pausing at the front doors, not sure why. She looks around, watching the people bustle around, most stop briefly to wave at her, as she waves back. Then she opens the door and steps in.
Daza (daza.mistwalker) thumbs to another page and then turns back to the previous one, as if trying to discern something he missed, being totally engrossed as he is wont to do, oblivious to the sounds outside or inside.

Daza (daza.mistwalker) thumbs to another page and then turns back to the previous one, as if trying to discern something he missed, being totally engrossed as he is wont to do, oblivious to the sounds outside or inside

Daza (daza.mistwalker) finally catches the flourish fabric and looks up to see the Queen and flushes slightly as he quickly closes the book to stand and bow “OH! your highness! Forgive me! I didn’t see you come in!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): I smile softly “Oh, your fine, you were busy reading.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) fumbles with the book a bit and then clears his throat “Ahem…well this….oh it was nothing really. Tell me, how has it been with you…all is well I trust?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker): *how
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Pretty much. I had a drow follow me around a bit, thought I didn’t know she was there, then she popped out and made a bunch of noise so I would see her, then we had a bit of a discussion, I guess.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) frowns with a worried look “A drow you say! what sort of discussion? She didn’t touch you did she? Did she threaten you?”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): leans across the table, grabbing a cup of tea, sitting back down and sips it.
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “She wasn’t sure who I was at first, when I suggested these might be my lands, she sort of got a little offensive, started asking questions about how I became ruler.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) grumbles “We need to talk with your guard captain about getting your subjects yo bend the knee…we can;t afford endless insurrections”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): looks up at him, a questioning look on her face
Daza (daza.mistwalker): “Well…you want people loyal to you, right? If an enemy comes, you can;t have them joining the other side!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): looks down, suddenly feeling a a bit dumb “I’m not worried about the ones loyal to me, I give them no reason to want to leave. But I will not force anyone to stay.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) scratches his head and sighs “Umm…it’s not a matter of them staying or leaving your majesty….it is more a matter of them deciding to stay and force YOU out. The world is full of people who do not share your goodness.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): Reaching up, she touches her necklace, it is warm to the touch, giving off a nice red hue.
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “But why would anyone want to force me out?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) speads his arms “So they can have all of THIS! To have your wealth, your power, your influence…and there are some who simply can not abide a good thing without destroying it.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): Looks up at him “You really think someone would want all my troubles?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) laughs “Ahh, my dear queen! Most tend to overlook the troubles and have an eye only for the spoils! And that necklace….glowing again. Does it always do that?”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Only when I’m around magic, doesn’t matter what kind.” So, do you think someone is after all this?” as she looks around
Daza (daza.mistwalker) blinks and peers closer “In the presence of magic….hmm…intriguing. So not by other creatures but just by magical ones?”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Yes, just around magic, even if I can’t see it. And it tells me if I should worry about it.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) reaches forward to touch the necklace, which happens to be nestled on her chest, before realizing what he is doing and withdraws, blushing slightly “Ahhh…how does it tell you if you should worry?”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): smiles at his blush “Different colors, and the warmth or coldness it gets.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) tilts his head “Sooo….which one makes you worry? The warmth or the cold?”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “The cold, along with a bluish hue.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) blinks has he looks at it, and realizes to anyone else it would appear that he was gawking and looks away, casing the room and thinking as he fidgets “Hmmm…fascinating. I might wish to examine it closer at some point.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “To do that, you will have to quite blushing.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) coughs “Ahhh…wellll…I was hoping I could look when it wasn’t…erm….when you weren’t wearing it”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I don’t ever not wear it, ever. It seems to have lost the clasp after I put it on.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) blinks “you mean it is stuck there? Surely there must be SOME way…perhaps a jeweler could have a look at it”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “They have tried everything, even cutting it, nothing worked.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) grumbles “Mithril…and probably enchanted.” He sighs and takes the liberty of plopping down on the furniture “And no way to remove it except by magic”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Not sure that I want it removed, I have become, oh, attached to it.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) shrugs “Well as long as your head stays attached, I suppose it is safe and it seems otherwise harmless”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Since I put my mother’s crown and necklace on, I feel whole again, and I seem to heal faster too.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “There was something missing before, like a part of my life wasn’t there.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) steadies his gaze before it widens slightly “Heal faster….heal faster?!? Have you been hurt? Have you been ill? ”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Not really, but if I try to cover it up with my hand, it will burn my hand, either from cold or heat, but it heals fast.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) blinks “It…it BURNS you?!? Oh dear! that is not good…it wouldn’t do to get burned…well…there!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Not my chest, just my hand when I cover it up.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) hmfs and shifts uneasily “Well that is odd…still, we can’t have the queen burning her hands. Have you tried wearing gloves?”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I just don’t cover it up anymore. I did notice the drow took notice of it. I think she was a leader of some sort.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) makes a face “Gads….if the drow took notice and decide it is anything of value…where is that guard of yours? He needs to be on high alert if we have drow skulking about!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I left him in the castle, he was taking care of something or other. You know, now that I think about it, my mother always had this necklace and crown on, she told me one day I would make a regal dr, er, queen.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) fiddles with the book in his hand. His old self would have simply dispelled it for safe keeping but sighs as he looks up “Well I believe your mother was very wise…you ARE a very regal queen”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Well, I try, sometimes I wonder. I wish I had more time to learn stuff from my parents, we always thought there would be time later.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) nods “Such a tragedy, losing ones parents at such a young age and having to fill their shoes. Know that I will do everything in my…erm….power, to ensure that your reign is a long and successful one, your highness.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Thank you, I do appreciate that. There is just so much, it sometimes gets overbearing, I guess.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) nods sympathetically “I will give the best counsel that I can, and do what I can to make the crown less heavy upon your brow”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “It isn’t actually that heavy, rather light even.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) chuckles “I meant that figuratively…the wieght of the cares and responsibilities that weigh heavy upon every ruler’s brow”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): after a minute or so, she looks over at him giggling.
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Yes, I was trying to be funny.”

Daza meets with Queen Beatrix

Daza meets with Queen Beatrix

Daza (daza.mistwalker) rubs the fingers of his free hand together, looking at his book as if to concentrate but then looks up and laughs with her, albeit a bit stiffly “Ahh…wonderful jest your majesty!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Well, I try sometimes, anyway. My mother, when she was in her … well, when she was, um, she was magnificent.” fumbles a bit, as she tries not to say to much.
Daza (daza.mistwalker) nods and smiles a bit distractedly “Yes…yes I am sure she was if you take at all after her!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Well, of course I take after her, in all ways you might say.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) tilts his head “Well surely you might have gotten something from your father”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “But of course, I’m half and half, you could say.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) arches a brow and leans forward “Half and half?”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Well, ya.”

Daza (daza.mistwalker) leans back but his brow remains raised “A bit of an odd turn of the phrase…half and half”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “And why you say that?”

Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I’m half my father, and half my mother.”

Daza (daza.mistwalker) blinks and then nods “Oh…hehe…I see
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “And why you say that?”

Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I’m half my father, and half my mother.”

Daza (daza.mistwalker) blinks and then nods “Oh…hehe…I see
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I’, half like my father, and half like my mother, well, maybe a bit more like my mother then that, I am female too.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) chuckles a bit “I just had not thought to put it that way since one assumes…hehe..no matter. Yes, definitely female! Definitely you favor your mother in that respect.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “One assumes what?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) clears his throat “Well!…Erm….one assumes you share the traits of both parents. such as your father’s bravery and your mother’s beauty and intelligence.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Oh, well, of course, in that respect, ya. Both my parents were brave, and intelligent. My mother was beautiful, in all aspects.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “And she was very good at her talents.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) brightens momentarily with a bit of an idea “That necklace…it was given to you by your mother.” He says it as more of a statement as he stands and strides closer, still clutching the book with one hand while with his free one he rubs his fingers with his thumb
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Yes, she gave it too me. Left me a chest, with the crown, the necklace, and a copy of the prophecy, although I haven’t searched the chest totally yet.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) reaches forth with his hand as if to touch the necklace and closes his eyes, but his hand shakes as he breathes deeply. His fingers are poises, but the shaking continues and finally he drops his hand to his side as he opens his eyes with a rather sad and disappointed expression “I..I’m sorry your highness.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Sorry for what, Daza?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) crosses his arms but not in the authortarian way as was his custom but more hugging himself to stop the shaking “I..erm…I….I’m not sure I can…and even if I could I’m not sure if I should”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Can … should what? Talk to me Daza.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) clears his throat “Ahhh…I..umm….well since getting this body I have studied the magical books in your library quite diligently but….I haven’t attempted any.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Is there any better time then the present?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) shifts uncomfortably “I…I’m a …erm…I’m a bit afraid to. You might recall the words of more than one of the healers who attended me…who made this possible. This new body is a tremendous gift! And magic has a way of doing things that tax the mind, body and soul. I am loathe to put this one at such jeopardy.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “My mother always told me, if done right, and with care, the strain is less.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) narrows his eyes “your mother….she was a mage?”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): Nods her head
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Yes, a d .. er ya, a mage.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) shakes his head, filing this information away should he have a chance to use it “That is beside the point….This was a delicate procedure! what if this body decides to reject my soul? I would be a ghost again…or even worse…an undead!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): closes her eyes, whispering something under her breath, feeling out the emotions, she then looks straight into Daza’s eyes “Has your body given you any indication it would reject your soul?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) rubs the back of his neck “Well…no…not as such. but I have been very careful not to give it cause to!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I see no indications that it is unhappy, I feel it rather likes you.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) chuckles in half exasperation “Well..I like IT! very much so! you have any idea what it was like to be a ghost? I was forever envying the living….even so far as HATING them for their life! I don’t want to go back to that state again. I hope you understand.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I more then understand, I felt what you felt, I seen the saddness, the envy, hate, even towards me.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) sighs and nods “Yes….even you..and I could not bear to have that happen again”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “How do you think I knew you were around, the emotions coming from you were strong, and be honest, at first, it was strongest against me.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) nods emphatically “See? The risk is tooo great….I could not live with myself…erm….as a ghost again and having to go through that again.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I’m assuming you know I’m a strong empath.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker): Well..if your mother was a mage, that might explain some of that, yes.
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “And the other half, helps too.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker): Erm…you mean your father?
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “No, my mother.”

Daza (daza.mistwalker) cocks his head and arches his brow again before diverting his attention to person walking through the door
Daza (daza.mistwalker) feels some of the tension from his awkward predicament but still addresses what appears to be a young elf lady “Vedui! Can we help you?”
Avina en’Cael (saria) sees Beatrix sitting and is about to turn and slip out when Daza notes her. “drat…” she says to herself. “Ah yes….I’m looking for the Archmage….”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) looks a round and then remembers “Oh…erm…yes…that would be me at the moment…I suppose” He casts a look at the queen
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): Nods her head
Avina en’Cael (saria): “I should have figured when they brought you back…” she looks at Beatrix wondering if she recognizes her, and back to Daza. “Well um, I’d like to apply to join the Spellweavers…I was a powerful archmage in my old kingdom…but….afraid that’s no longer the case”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) hopes this elf isn’t here to ask him to do any magic and then brightens as he gets an idea “OH! you want to be a mage! And you have experience you say! Hmmm…come, come” He motions for her to come closer as he casts about for parchment and a quill
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): Looks over at the lady elf, thinking she might have seen her before, but not sure.
Daza (daza.mistwalker) finds a parchment, quill and bottle of ink, nearly spilling it in his haste as he begins scribbling “Okay…tell me…how do you spell your name?”
Avina en’Cael (saria) looks at him oddly. “Um…alright” and steps closer, wishing the Queen wasn’t here so she could talk to her later
Avina en’Cael (saria): “A-v-i-n-a”

Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): Looks at the lady again, shakes her head and lets it go.
Daza (daza.mistwalker) scribbles her name on the parchment and then scribbles some more before signing with a giant flourish “Yes..Avina…very nice, very nice….Well thank you very much, your application has been accepted. congratulations you are now the arch mage of Lundene! Report to the queen in the morning and be ready to carry out your duties!” He shoves the parchment in her hands and start crorraling and herding her towards the door
Avina en’Cael (saria): “Great, I’ll do tha…wait…arch..what..huh? I can barely make toast much less arch mage…”

Avina Becomes Arch Mage and is ushered off before she can refuse

Avina Becomes Arch Mage and is ushered off before she can refuse

Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): She finally can’t stand it any more, looking at the lady “Do I know you?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) continues to try to march her through the door “The queen thanks you for your service! I’m sure you’ll do great! Just battling a few drow here and there. maybe a dragon…an orc horde or two….congratulations!”
Avina en’Cael (saria): “I…yes…you do sort of but…I can’t…what in the world is going on here?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) continues to dissemble “you’re the new arch mage! Great opportunity! Make sure to report to the queen bright and early in the morning…she’ll explain everything!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): looks up at Daza
Daza (daza.mistwalker) opens the door for her “Have a good evening! Nice to have met you erm…what was your name…OH! Avina! Lovely name!”
Avina en’Cael (saria) gets shoved out the door and calls to the Queen. “I’ll explain in the morning….I guess?” she calls

Daza (daza.mistwalker) waves and calles out “NAAMARIE!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “What was that all about Daza?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) nods and smiles “I’ve solved your problem…got you an experienced arch mage…I can keep my body….everyone is happy!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “But I want you.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): coughs “As archmage, I mean.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker): Well you can still have me…I’ll be happy to counsel, advise and protect you *nods*
Daza (daza.mistwalker) coughs “erm..as your advisor…of course”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): blushes slightly “Ya, of course.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “No, no, no. You have the experience, you are a great arch mage.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) furrows his brow “I can;t be an arch mage without magic…and I just….I don’t want to be a ghost again…and come to hate you …or anyone else…again”

Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Daza, sit down, please.”

Daza (daza.mistwalker) sighs “I’m sorry your highness…I just want what’s best for you…and even this body grows weary at times
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): she speaks up “Daza, Sit!”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) sits rather quickly
You decline Archmage for a day? from A group member named Saria.
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Thank you. I have heard a lot about you. Why would you be so worried about hating me?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker): “I don’t want to be a ghost again..and the risk with using magic is too great. Magic always comes at a cost and few know this better than I”

Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): again she asks “Why are you worried about hating me, Daza?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) furrows his brow “Well…what?!? You WANT me to hate you? nono….that will not do”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Of course not. Is there a way that I could take the cost, in stead of you?”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) glares “Certainly not! you have enough cares and burdens of your own without having to carry mine too! I’ve cost everyone entirely too much grief already in my last life, I do not intend to squander this one.”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “There are things you do not yet know, I can handle the costs of magic use, I have seen my mother deal with it. It would not be a burden.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) nods “I want to get this life right and will not be costing anyone any more and will not entertain any thoughts of you ….well…carrying the costs of magic. I will still serve as your consel if you will still have me, but burdening you..or anyone else…is out of the question”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “Listen to me, Daza, it will NOT be a burden.”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) sighs “It does not work that way, anyway….one mage can lend another powers, but in the end it always casts them both. there are no shortcuts. Magic always carries a price. I see no reason to double it needlessly. I’m sure the new girl….umm…Avina…yes…Avina! I’m sure she will serve you well!”
Daza (daza.mistwalker) squirms a bit in his seat and finds himself thinking of the day he got this gift and thinking of Lady Snow, suddenly wishing she was here. She would know what to say and do.
Daza (daza.mistwalker) nods “At least give the girl a chance…she may turn out well after all!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): grumbles to herself, but loud enough for Daza to hear “For some reason, I don’t think so.” as she gets up, she drops the big book she was holding onto the table, it’s title ‘The female dragon, myths and truths’
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): “I will be in touch, shortly.” leaving the book, I turn and head for the door
Daza (daza.mistwalker) watches her drop the book and looks at the one he has been holding the entire time and places it on the table. It was a cook book. ‘How to serve Dragons.’ and waves at the departing queen “Naamarie your highness!”
Queen Beatrix Quintus (tbreeze69): As I grab my cloak, I turn and wave.

He looks over at the book she left and furrows his brow, but then shrugs and smiles, delighted that they might share some interests.  He might even give the cookbook to the royal cook and surprise her majesty with a special treat of dragon tail, which might help smooth over her disappointment.  He’d have to worry about how to obtain said tail in the morning.  Perhaps the new arch mage could help procure it…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment